# Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs Visiting Committee

Margaret S. Wheeler, Chair Thomas W. Adler Bruce H. Akers William C. Barnard Erline Belton Howard R. Berger John J. Betchkal A. Ted Bonda Lance C. Buhl Michael A. Campbell Patrick A. Carney Ieri E. Chaikin Lisa Drenik-Jones Claire E. Freeman David N. Goss John L. Habat **Eleanor Hayes** David G. Hill John D. Koch Allan C. Krulak Morton Q. Levin David K. McClurkin

Darlene Evans McCoy William R. Plato Richard J. Rapacz William J. Reidy Barbara S. Robinson Myron F. Robinson Leonard Ronis Daryl P. Rush Carlton B. Schnell William R. Snyder Ronald W. Watt Lesley Brooks Wells Margaret W. Wong

In Tribute to the Public Service Fundraising Committee:

Allan C. Krulak, Chair Bruce H. Akers, Co-Chair David G. Hill, Co-Chair Margaret S. Wheeler Jeri E. Chaikin

## In Tribute to the Lublic Service Award Recipients

1985 Mercedes Cotner 1986 I. Richard Kelso 1987 Steven A. Minter Anthony J. Celebrezze 1988 Anthony J. Celebrezze, Jr. 1989 George V. Voinovich 1991 Nona M. Burney H. Jerome Crittendon Linda Edwards Michael R. White 1992

1993

# In Tribute to the Public Service

Award & Scholarship

Friday, May 28, 1993



Cleveland City Hall



## In Tribute to the Public Service

An annual award and scholarship program sponsored by the Visiting Committee of Cleveland State University's Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs

7:30 a.m.

Continental Breakfast in the Rotunda

8:00 a.m.

**Trumpet Fanfare summons to** 

**Council Chambers** 

8:15 a.m.

9:00 a.m.

**Ceremony in City Council Chambers** 

Video Presentation: In Tribute to Patrick A. Sweeney

Introductory Remarks

David C. Sweet, Dean, Levin College

Call to Order

The Honorable Jay Westbrook, President, City Council

Welcome

Claire Van Ummersen, President, Cleveland State University

Introductions

Margaret Wheeler, Chair, Levin College Visiting Committee

Announcement of the 8th

Mercedes S. Cotner Scholarship

to Kenya Stewart

Nona M. Burney, Assistant Principal, Martin Luther King

Law and Public Service Magnet High School

Remarks

Robert W. Gillespie, Chairman & CEO, Society Corporation

Allan C. Krulak, Vice President of Community Affairs

Forest City Enterprises

Presentation of the 8th

"In Tribute to the Public Service" Award

to Representative Patrick A. Sweeney

Mercedes Cotner

Adjournment

Benefactors

BP America Calfee, Halter & Griswold

Charter One Bank East Ohio Gas Company Forest City Enterprises The Richard & David Jacobs Group McDonald & Company Securities, Inc. Ohio Bell Telephone Co.

The Plain Dealer Society National Bank

Sponsors

Bank One, Cleveland, NA R.P. Carbone Construction Co. The Cleveland Foundation Coopers & Lybrand Deloitte & Touche Ernst & Young Gateway Economic Development Corporation

David G. Hill & Associates Co., LPA

The Mt. Sinai Health Care System

Multi-Care Management National City Bank Playhouse Square Foundation **Primus Venture Partners** Regional Transit Authority Squire, Sanders & Dempsey TRW, Inc.

Margaret Wong & Associates Co., LPA

#### Patrons

Apex Sales Agency, Inc. William G. and Alice Batchelder Bearings, Inc. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Ohio Cleveland-Cliffs Climaco, Climaco, Seminatore, Lefkowitz & Garofoli Co., LPA Cohen & Company Dix & Eaton, Inc. Richard Fleischman Architects, Inc. Glidden House at University Circle

The Greater Cléveland Growth Association

Havens & Emerson, Inc. The Illuminating Co. James J. and Catherine Kassouf Marcus Advertising, Inc. NACCO Industries, Inc. The Ohio Municipal League Ozanne Construction Company, Inc. Patrick Media Group, Inc. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum Carlton B. Schnell Watt, Roop & Co. The Western Southern Foundation

### Friends

**Burges & Burges** Jeri E. Chaikin Ferragon Corporation Mercedes Cotner Glencairn Corporation Timothy Hagan Carl C. Heintel G. Robert Klein Dr. Richard Klein Eugene L. Kramer MCI/CPI PAC Mechanical & **Plumbing Contractors** 

Lindsay Morgenthaler Francis E. Mosier Sylvester Murray Neale & Associates Mary Noonan Ohio Federation of Teachers Patrician, Inc. Pearlyiew Inc. Barbara S. Robinson Judy B. Sheerer Michael R. Weil Margie Wheeler

We gratefully acknowledge those supporters whose contributions arrived too late to appear in this program.